top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMDPthatsme

Headspace within Creative Space

So many people believe writing is easy. Turn on your device or grab pen and paper and write. I only wish it was so simple. Finding the headspace and inspiration is one thing, but finding creative space is not always so easy.


Writers have rituals for finding inspiration and getting into their "groove." This is caused by discipline and exploring what turns on those creative juices. This can come in the form of the time of day, a beverage, certain music, etc., but creative space is not headspace (though it can affect it).


For me, creative space means an area for your mind to expand into physical form. For my late teen years and early twenties, this space was my bedroom. The only problem with that room was it was a hallway, or at least that's what I called it. It joined another bedroom, laundry room, and kitchen.

Not that I am complaining. I had a bed and a desk, but that space always felt void of privacy since it was between rooms that needed access by others.


When you share a house with many occupants of different ages, it is also a noisy place. I have always had a sensitivity to noise. It makes it hard to concentrate and without concentration, it is difficult to find the headspace to write.


In consequence, a lot of my time was used on other hobbies from gaming (playing and learning how to make 3D models) and drawing. I do not like to say my time was wasted doing these things as they brought me joy. I love to game and draw. It is not time wasted learning a new skill or perfecting a craft, but I do feel like my writing suffered, though I will say I did write three drafts of Blue Fire here.

In my late twenties, I lived in a house where I had my own room that was not a walking lane to other rooms or a shared room with another person. I was able to finish drafts four and five for Blue Fire during this time.


Having the kind of space that allowed me to pin index cards to the wall felt freeing. I was able to make a creative space that fit my needs at that time, but financially I was dependent and that drove me to change careers.


I had simple goals. I found a job that once hired on, I would be independent. It was a big move from a career in retail to manufacturing. I was excellent at my job in retail and to this day I cannot go into a store without judging their first thirty feet or arranging food on shelves.


A lot of people fear being alone, but it is something I crave. If I have the option to be alone, I will generally choose it. I made great progress on this dream, but then 2020 happened and along with it surprise health issues for me (non-COVID related), which forced me to leave my new job and retreat to my family homestead.


It is a struggle to find that creative space now as I live in a restricted fashion, but I am an adaptable person. I returned to writing at night when it is quiet. I cannot have my index cards on the wall, but I can fill out and organize binders.


Although I know I do not have the space I want to expand my creativity, I have accomplished publishing Blue Fire, writing a short story called Dream Heavenly along with three parts to a novella series called The Gang. And I think that is pretty swell.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I hate reading.

I would think I am in the minority on this subject as a writer. Most will tell you about their love of reading and how it inspired them to start writing. It was different for me. Growing up, I never

bottom of page